top of page


UK extends chemical weapons sanctions to Overseas Territories

Effective 9 January 2019, the United Kingdom’s Chemical Weapons (Sanctions) (Overseas Territories) Order 2018 makes operative European Union sanctions against chemical weapon proliferation and use (2018/1544 and 2018/1542) in specified Overseas Territories (listed below). These sanctions include an asset freeze on persons designated by the Council of the European Union, as well as associates of designated persons.

The territories to which this Order extends are: Anguilla; British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory; Cayman Islands; Falkland Islands; Montserrat; Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands; St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus; Turks and Caicos Islands; Virgin Islands.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page